Bookin’

Reading frenzy to kick out the last days of Spring!

Hunter Thompson kick – The Rum Diaries, Fear and Loathing, The Great Shark Hunt, Hell’s Angels

Martin Amis – The Rachel Papers (if you liked Catcher in the Rye – and who doesn’t? then you’ll gobble this right up), and Success

The Travel Book

Egon Schiele in Prison

Nick Rakoff’s Fraud

The Book of General Ignorance

Beth Lisick’s Everybody into the Pool

Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray

Jorge Luis Borges’ Non-Fiction

Antonio Skarmeta’s The Dancer and the Thief, Il Postino, and one other one I’m blanking on.

Plus a few art rags, The Rumpus.net, Arts&Letters Daily, 3quarksdaily.com, and a random splattering of of links.  Paris Review interviews, paging through some Tom Robbins and Bukowski.  I’ve started in on Camille Paglia but she might be a bit over my head and too time consuming at this point.  I think my brain is on overload and I’m looking forward to getting back to writing this weekend.

The great writers have all been great readers.  Here’s lookin’ at them.

As an aside, when my internet adaptor arrives (hopefully later today) I will have more insightful things to say about some of these readings, but for now I have 15 minutes left on the computer at the biblioteca and am in search of a new bike, Craigslist here I come!

~ by garcialoca on June 19, 2009.

One Response to “Bookin’”

  1. What, No Calvin and Hobbes?

Leave a Reply

 
